Triangle Fire Commemoration | Luncheon Honorees


[The honorees' complete remarks are available online]

Ruth J. Abram

Ruth J. Abram is an activist and historian who has been a pioneer
in uncovering and interpreting the stories of urban immigrant families, like the
ones whose daughters worked in the Triangle Waist Factory. In 1988, she
co-founded the Lower East Side Tenement Museum in New York, hoping that the
public would “consider the question: How will we be one nation and at the same
time enjoy, appreciate and certainly not be afraid of the profound differences we
bring to the table based on background?” Over the past 20 years, the Museum
has restored the apartments of six families who lived at 97 Orchard Street.

[Remarks by Ruth J. Abram]

Kate Frucher

Kate Frucher is an attorney turned entrepreneur whose work spans the business and non-profit sectors. She started her career in the White House Office of National Service where she helped create the AmeriCorps National Service Program. Later, she co-founded Link Research and helped launch Stand for Children. As a Skadden Fellow, she founded the Family Court Education Project. After 9/11, she spearheaded terrorism-preparedness efforts as Senior Aide to the NYC Fire Commissioner and became a Senior Fellow in the Combating Terrorism Center at the U.S. Military Academy at West Point. Now in the world of early-stage companies, she served as General Manager at Axiom Legal and is an executive at ideeli.

[Remarks by Kate Frucher]

Lynn Sherr

Lynn Sherr is an Emmy and Peabody Award-winning news correspondent
who has specialized in covering women’s issues and social change in a distinguished
career with ABC NEWS. She is co-author of Susan B. Anthony Slept Here: A Guide
to American Women’s Landmarks among numerous other books. She is currently
a Contributing Editor at More magazine, writing posts for “The Daily Beast” and
PBS’ “Worldfocus,” and serving as a frequent guest co-host of PRI’s The Takeaway
on morning radio. As she recalled in her memoir, “I’ve not only covered the feminist
movement; I’ve been part of it, stepping into jobs that didn’t exist until I got there.”

[Remarks by Lynn Sherr]

The 2011 Jewish Women's Archive Luncheon Board and Committee

Honorary Event Chairs

Barbara B. Dobkin
Michele Rosen
Prudence L. Steiner
Nicki Newman Tanner [Welcome by Nicki Tanner]

Benefit Event Committee

Ann F. Lewis, Chair
Joyce Antler
Sue Bricker Dorn
Gloria Feldt
Ann Kirschner
Anne H. Meyer
Michele Rosen
Susan L. Schlechter
Marian Scheuer Sofaer
Prudence L. Steiner
Nancy Schwartz Sternoff
Nicki Newman Tanner
Diane Wohl

JWA Board of Directors

Prudence L. Steiner, Chair
Barbara B. Dobkin, Founding Chair
Gail Twersky Reimer, Founding Executive Director
Joyce Antler
Olivia Cohen-Cutler
Sue Bricker Dorn
Gloria Feldt
Roz Garber
Felicia D. Herman
Carol M. Joseph
Valerie Joseph
Morlie Hammer Levin
Karen Secunda Levy
Ann F. Lewis
Anne H. Meyer
Linda K. Morse
Sarah Perry
Susan Augenblick Raskin
Michele Rosen
Barbara Ellison Rosenblit
Marian Scheuer Sofaer
Nancy Schwartz Sternoff
Nicki Newman Tanner
Diane Wohl
Rose Zoltek-Jick

How to cite this page

Jewish Women's Archive. "Triangle Fire Commemoration | Luncheon Honorees." (Viewed on October 4, 2022) <>.


Help us elevate the voices of Jewish women.

donate now

Get JWA in your inbox