Online History Courses

JWA presents virtual courses with scholars of Jewish women’s history, delving into the lives, challenges, choices, and innovations of Jewish women who changed our story. Each course is centered on a unique theme and consists of four to six sessions facilitated by experts in the field. Sessions are designed to stand alone, so participants can attend as many evenings as they'd like. No advanced reading or preparation required.

Below are details from past and current courses. To join the new October series, sign up using this registration form. Unless otherwise indicated, all sessions begin at 8:00 p.m. ET. (Session recordings are currently only available to those registered for the course. To inquire about access to past recordings, please contact us.)


October 2020—Jewish Women's Activism in the United States

Session 1, Thursday, October 1: Jewish Women in the Labor Movement, with Annelise Orleck

Session 2, Thursday, October 8: Jewish Women and the Birth Control Movement, with Melissa Klapper

Session 3, Thursday, October 15: Jewish Women in the Civil Rights Movement, with Debra Schultz

Session 4, Thursday, October 22: Jewish Feminism, with Joyce Antler

Session 5, Thursday, October 29: Jewish Women and LGBTQ Activism, with Marla Brettschneider

Session 6, Thursday, November 5: Ruth Bader Ginsberg and Legal Feminism, with Alison Lefkovitz


August 2020—Jewish Women You Thought You Knew (or Never Knew!)

Session 1, Thursday, August 6: Golda Meir, with Francine Klagsbrun

Session 2, Thursday, August 13: Bertha Pappenheim, with Marion Kaplan

Session 3, Thursday, August 20: Sarah Schenirer, with Naomi Seidman

Session 4, Thursday, August 27: Bella Abzug, with Leandra Zarnow


June 2020—Leading through Crisis and Change: Jewish Women at the Turn of the 20th Century

Session 1, Thursday, June 4: Jewish Housewives and the Kosher Meat Boycott, with Judith Rosenbaum

Session 2, Thursday, June 11: Henrietta Szold, with Karla Goldman

Session 3, Thursday, June 18: Jewish Women and the Suffrage Movement, with Carole Balin

Session 4, Thursday, June 25: Emma Lazarus, with Rebecca Kobrin


JWA’s online history courses are made possible in part by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities. Any views, findings, conclusions, or recommendations expressed in this program do not necessarily represent those of NEH.

How to cite this page

Jewish Women's Archive. "Online History Courses." (Viewed on September 25, 2020) <https://jwa.org/teach/online-history-courses>.

Donate

Help us elevate the voices of Jewish women.

donate now

Get JWA in your inbox