You are here

Share Share Share Share Share Share Share

Molly Cone

Molly Lamken Cone produced more than forty children’s books in her career, ranging from young adult novels to introductions to Judaism for younger readers. Cone studied at the University of Washington before marrying her high school sweetheart in 1939. She worked at various writing jobs until her husband came home from the war, at which point they opened a direct-mail service together. Cone’s first book, Only Jane, was published in 1960. She regularly drew on her own experiences for inspiration: her Mishmash series was based on her rambunctious dog, Too Many Girls reflected her memories of her brother’s disappointment at the birth of her youngest sister, and Number Four was inspired by a story she heard of a Native American boy who was bullied at school and later “accidentally” drowned. She also wrote books on the environment, an account of Henrietta Szold’s life, and a number of books on Jewish history and practice, such as Who Knows Ten: Children’s Tales of the Ten Commandments in 1965 and The Story of Shabbat in 2000. Cone was chosen as one of thirty Seattle women interviewed for the Jewish Women’s Archive’s oral history project Weaving Women’s Words.

More on: Fiction
Molly Cone
Full image
Molly Cone.
Photograph courtesy of Joan Roth.
Date of Birth
October 3, 1918
Place of Birth
Tacoma, Washington
Date of Death
March 23, 2016

How to cite this page

Jewish Women's Archive. "Molly Cone." (Viewed on January 23, 2018) <>.


Help us elevate the voices of Jewish women.

donate now

The JWA Podcast

listen now

Sign Up for JWA eNews


Discover Education Programs

Join our growing community of educators.

view programs