Rachel (Cohen) Kagan, May 14, 1948

Rachel (Cohen) Kagan, chairperson of WIZO Israel, signed Israel's Declaration of Independence on May 14, 1948. (L to R) David Ben-Gurion; in background, Rabbi Yehuda Leib ha-Cohen Fishman [Maimon], Kagan, Moshe Shertok [Sharett].
Courtesy of WIZO Archives, Tel Aviv.


Help us elevate the voices of Jewish women.

donate now

Get JWA in your inbox

Read the latest from JWA from your inbox.

sign up now

How to cite this page

Jewish Women's Archive. "Rachel (Cohen) Kagan, May 14, 1948." (Viewed on May 25, 2024) <http://jwa.org/media/wizo-1970-1-still-image>.