You are here

Share Share Share Share Share Share Share

JWA Annual Luncheon 2012 Honorees |"Making Trouble/Making History"


Letty Cottin Pogrebin

Letty Cottin Pogrebin

Letty Cottin Pogrebin is a writer and activist whose work has shaped the feminist agenda for more than a generation. A graduate of Brandeis University, she is a Founding Editor of Ms. Magazine, which is celebrating its 40th anniversary this year. She also co-founded the National Women’s Political Caucus, the Ms. Foundation for Women, the Free to Be Foundation, as well as several Black/Jewish and Palestinian/Jewish dialogue groups. Among her nine books is Deborah, Golda, and Me: Being Female and Jewish in America, in which she extols the power of Jewish female role models to inspire contemporary acts of boldness and vision.

Elizabeth A. Sackler

Elizabeth A. Sackler

Elizabeth A. Sackler is a public historian and arts activist (she calls herself a “Matron of the Arts”) whose name adorns the Elizabeth A. Sackler Center for Feminist Art at the Brooklyn Museum. Along with bringing feminist art to a major cultural institution, the Center highlights women’s contributions in all fields throughout history. A self-proclaimed “child of the 60s,” Elizabeth was profoundly influenced by the protests of the Civil Rights Movement. A steadfast advocate for the rights of American Indians, she established the American Indian Ritual Object Repatriation Foundation in 1992. She continues to lecture and write about ethics and morality in the art market and beyond.

Rebecca Traister

Rebecca Traister

Rebecca Traister is a contributor to The New York Times Magazine and the author of Big Girls Don’t Cry: The Election that Changed Everything for American Women, which was named a Notable Book of 2010 by The New York Times. She also contributes to Salon, where she was a senior writer covering women in politics, media, and entertainment for eight years. She has also written for Elle, The Nation, The New York Observer, Vogue, The Washington Post, The Los Angeles Times, and other publications.

The 2012 Jewish Women's Archive Luncheon Board and Committee

Event Committee

Sue Bricker Dorn
Ann F. Lewis
Susan Levin Schlechter

Gloria Feldt
Ann Kirschner
Nancy Schwartz Sternoff
Nicki Newman Tanner

Circle of Troublemakers

Ruth J. Abram
Arlene Alda
Esther-Ann Asch
Susan Beckerman
Susan Berk
Shirley B. Bresler
Cantor Angela Buchdahl
Judy Chicago
Betsy and Alan D. Cohn
Michele R. Cohen
Claire C. Edelsheim
Anne Ehrenkranz
Barbara B. Friedman
Kate Frucher
Penina and Mickey Glazer
Sibyl R. Golden
Dorian Goldman
Katja Goldman and Michael Sonnenfeldt
Lela Goren
Katharine R. Henderson
Carol M. Joseph
Patti Kenner
Sheila Lambert
Barbara Levin
Leytes Family
Susan E. Linder
Sally Mendelsohn and David Lowenfeld
Juliana May
Leni May
Ruth W. Messinger
Carol Ostrow
Kathleen Peratis
Abigail Pogrebin and David Shapiro
Cathy Raphael
Brenda Brown Rever
Joan Roth
Nancy and Miles Rubin
Sheri Cyd Sandler
Joan Scheuer
Adele Silver
Florence Sinsheimer
Nancy and David Solomon
Gloria Steinem
Jeane Ungerleider
Joan Wachtler
Henny Wenkart
Carol B. Wise
Rose Zoltek-Jick

JWA Board of Directors

Prudence L. Steiner, Chair
Barbara B. Dobkin, Founding Chair
Gail Twersky Reimer, Founding Executive Director

Joyce Antler
Olivia Cohen-Cutler
Sue Bricker Dorn
Gloria Feldt
Roz Garber
Valerie Joseph
Tamara Kreinin
Karen Secunda Levy
Ann F. Lewis
Anne H. Meyer
Linda K. Morse
Beth Newburger
Susan Augenblick Raskin
Michele Rosen
Barbara Ellison Rosenblit
Susan Levin Schlechter
Marian Scheuer Sofaer
Nicki Newman Tanner
Diane Wohl

How to cite this page

Jewish Women's Archive. "JWA Annual Luncheon 2012 Honorees |"Making Trouble/Making History"." (Viewed on January 17, 2018) <>.


Help us elevate the voices of Jewish women.

donate now

The JWA Podcast

listen now

Sign Up for JWA eNews


Discover Education Programs

Join our growing community of educators.

view programs