Sharing Stories Inspiring Change


The Natalia Twersky Educator Award

Each year, the Jewish Women's Archive honors inspiring educators for their creativity in bringing Jewish women's stories into their teaching. The prize: $2,500 to the winning educator plus $500 for her/his school or program.

Could YOU be the next winner? The Award is open to any educator working in a Jewish setting with students in grades 6–12. Gather your submission materials and apply online by Monday, May 12, 2014.

Share this exciting opportunity with friends or colleagues by clicking on the icons at left.

Winners & Finalists

Judy Sandman
Judith Sandman
2013 Winner

Reuven Travis
Rabbi Reuven Travis
2013 Finalist

Ariel Horn Levenson
Ariel Horn Levenson
2013 Finalist

Allyson Mattanah
Allyson Mattanah
2012 Winner

Lesson plans are available on each individual's page.

“I like that the Twersky Award forced me to hone my craft. Intellectual challenges like this one keep our work vibrant.”
—Ariel Horn Levenson, 2013 Finalist

The Award

Named for Natalia Twersky, a champion of Jewish education and the mother of JWA's founding executive director Gail Twersky Reimer, the award is given annually to a teacher working in a formal or informal Jewish setting. The winning educator must demonstrate a commitment to integrating the stories and voices of Jewish women into her/his curriculum through the creative use of primary sources. With the Natalia Twersky Educator Award, JWA honors the work of educators committed to gender-inclusive curricula while also recognizing the schools that support their efforts.

Natalia Twersky grew up in Cracow, Poland, and survived Auschwitz before coming to the U.S. in 1945. Although she lost any simple faith and orthodox practice, she remained steadfast in her belief in Jewish education, recognizing its power to guide a next generation to know who they are and from where they had come.


Please email Etta King, Education Program Manager, or call 617-383-6763.

How to cite this page

Jewish Women's Archive. "The Natalia Twersky Educator Award." (Viewed on April 23, 2014) <>.